Could Someone Give me Advice on Filing Jointly with Foreign Income?

elijaa
elijaa Member Posts: 5 Newcomer

Hello there,

I am new to using FreeTaxUSA and could use some guidance on a specific situation. My spouse and I are planning to file jointly for the first time this year; and we have a bit of a complicated scenario involving foreign ;income.

My spouse worked abroad for part of the year and earned income from that employment. We are unsure about how to correctly report this foreign income on our joint tax return. Is there a specific section in FreeTa;xUSA where we can input this information?

I have read that we might be eligible for a Foreign Tax Credit to avoid double taxation. How do we go about claiming this credit on; FreeTaxUSA? Are there any particular forms we need to fill out or additional steps we should be aware of?

The income was earned in a foreign currency. What is the best way to handle currency conversion for tax reporti;ng purposes? Does FreeTaxUSA provide a tool for this, or do we need to use an external source for the correct exchange rates?

What kind of documentation should we keep on hand in case of an audit? Is it enough to have pay stubs and a letter from the foreign employer, or should w;e be preparing additional records?

Also, I have gone through this post; https://community.freetaxusa.com/discussion/104/foreign-earned-income-foreign-ccsp-paid which definitely helped me out a lot.

We want to make sure we are compliant and accurately reporting all necessary information. We are also open to recommendations for any specific guides or tutorials that FreeTaxUSA might offer for handling foreign income and related tax credits.

Thanks in advance for your help and assistance.

Comments

• KristineS
    KristineS FreeTaxUSA Agent Posts: 141

Hi elijaa,

Thanks for writing in.